Seeing a Challenge as an Adventure

There have been occasions over this winter in particular where I have felt pushed to the physical and mental limits of what I am capable of. When your survival instinct and defence mechanism kicks in and forces you to ask yourself, “Can you do this, there is danger, do you have skills to make it out of this situation unharmed”.

In this year of 2015 and certainty in the modern day, how often can you say you have been genuinely scared. Scared that your safety has been compromised, scared of the imminent fear that one mistake could cause injury or even death. For some one like me who wasn’t born in the mountains but reborn in the mountains when my parents took me for the first time, this is the thought process when embarking on a big back county excursion.

Any good ski mountaineer, ski tourer, big mountain rider and back country lover will know what goes into a pre trip plan. Its not waking up and clipping in and off you go, that’s when the above thought process turns into a reality.

However I’m by no means a mountain professional, I’m a mountain enthusiast so I wont write a blog about what to take and how to plan a Backcountry trip; only that if you should choose to begin pushing your ability to the back country don’t see it as a challenge but as an adventure, into the unknown and into that white abyss. It is where I find my inner peace and I’m sure you will find yours.

Around the Valle D’Aosta there is still so much terrain I have yet to discover, I am fully stoked already to hit up all the lines I have admired from afar with my newly acquired know how and some trusty friends in tow. I have been (as you have probably read in my other posts) and will continue to keep my fitness at the highest level possible to ensure, then when I put myself in the situations I mentioned above, I can deal with them in a calculated and safe manner. Would you rather spend the rest of your skiing and snowboarding life, whether you are like me (spending your life in the mountains) or a one week a year skier, venturing only 10m from the piste or would you rather venture away from civilisation, away from everything that makes the world a scary and unwelcoming place to where life is simple, the surroundings are ore inspiring and the ones around you, you trust implicitly with your life. I know which one I would choose. . . . .

2 thoughts on “Seeing a Challenge as an Adventure

    1. Hey Rose, thanks for your comment. Its not so complicated and pretty simple. It would involve; A, knowing the terrain well being sure of the trail you take and that the ground is stable eg, no walking over water, crevasses or loose rock, you can acquire terrain maps from your local lift pass office. B. check the avalanche reports from the previous few days, are the snow conditions stable and safe so you have the balance of fresh powder and a reliable snow pack. C, Equipment, ensuring you and your friends all have the MINIMUM transceiver, shovel, probe and plenty of refreshments.
      D, Quick Transceiver check to make sure everything is in working order.
      E, Up nice and early to allow plenty of time for the hike and that the conditions don’t change rapidly after the sun had been on it during the midday heat when the sun it most powerful.
      F, Just as a precondition always tell others where you are heading and ensure you have all emergency contacts saved in your phone. i think that should be a given anyways.

      However for a bigger trip I would recommend speaking with local guides and experts, monitoring the weather in the days/weeks leading up to the trip and investing in more sophisticated equipment if you will be touring or mountaineering; which this trip didn’t involve. It only required a long and rather arduous hike on foot.

      Like

Leave a Reply

