I think it is a good thing for people to review their situation every now and again; to re-evaluate what is important and to put things into prospective.

I have been at home for 2 months now and I have enjoyed it for a few reasons: My family, it has been lovely to spend some quality time with them. I am very close with my family and they have helped shape the person I am today. I have enjoyed being back in Yorkshire; Leeds is a very cool city and when you are away for a while and come back to see how it has grown and developed. Also this county can be incredible, we have a wonderful landscape and plenty of rich and interesting history.

However, as my father keeps reminding me, all “athletes” have funding issues in the beginning of their careers. I thought the most responsible decision for me was to return home, and concentrate on earning money and training for my departure in November. The only thing is now, I am in a situation where this doesn’t seem to be possible, I will not bore you with the details but I wont be able to afford the winter at this rate. I cant but my eggs in one basket and hope to gain some new sponsors who will provide me with new ski mountaineering equipment and hardware (gal needs a new board!).

So, this brings me to now, this rather normal saturday in not so sunny leeds, wondering that if I cant earn enough money here, I may as well not earn enough money somewhere else! Since I returned I have turned down 5 awesome jobs that any other person would be over the moon to accept, but again I didn’t believe I could earn enough.  These jobs would be good for me, when I say that I mean for my well being, for the soul. Working every hour god sends and looking to the future for motivation is wonderful for some people, those people have drive and determination by the bucket load, I have much admiration for them. I, on the other hand need to work on being happy in my surroundings, feeling free, to be around nature. I wont give up on having a full time competition schedule for next winter, but for now, there is no point worrying about something I seem to have no control over. I know I will make it happen and ensure I represent for my country and for my sport but for now, I think its time to move to the next adventure. I have heard some rumours there are some jobs available on Lago Di Garda, my summer home of a few years ago. There I can get back to nature in the most raw sense, windsurfing, sailing, mountain biking and paddle-boarding- not only that but two of my best girl friends are there; if there wasn’t enough reasons.

Maybe I go there, maybe I don’t, but now it is about enjoying the summer, not just passing the time until next winter. Okay okay, I will still dream of the snow covered mountains everyday but maybe I can quench that thirst my some green mountains instead.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Pensive- Thinking Out Loud

    1. Hey beauty how the heck are you? I was so jealous when I saw lovisa she said you 2 had and amazing time in riksgränsen! I miss you and can’t wait to get back out there on the boards with you some time soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

