So Verbier Freeride week have been postponed due to the snow, that is the only reason that I’m actually so happy to accept. Again, I have to say what a blessing it is that we have seen the snow for the first time this winter, winter is truly here. On that note and seen as we have begun the New Year, there is that inevitable self reflection that is necessary. It’s good for the soul and especially good for someone like me who strives to improve and be a better person at every opportunity.

This is why, as of late I have been having some thoughts about cutting out the excess, streamlining my life as it were, to make my life how I want it. I have these visions and dreams that I will be treated exactly how I treat others, they will pay me with the generosity, love and warmth that I pay them, however the literal reality is that, this is hardly ever the case. Luckily, over the years and this season too, I have collected a group of true and pure individuals who I know, genuinely want to see me prosper. In a sport like freeride, when so much emphasis goes on trust and stability in a relationship on the mountain, you learn what values are important off the mountain. Just how I would be patient and calm to take in all variants in the backcountry with my buddies; in regular life I hope for the same. I am understanding now, that I am not the problem, I am a good person and I know my nature is intrinsically fair and just; so now, to save my soul, to focus on my career and my riding, I need to refine my life and like I say, cut the excess.

I see this blog as a way of writing down my feelings and thoughts, I can rationalise something by writing it down, I know people have been interested by other posts I put up, particularly “The F Word”, I hope like that post, people can see what is important to me. If you know me and you are reading this, I hope you understand, if you are a fan or someone who follows my work, I hope you find this enlightening.

Do with it what you will, right now I plan to shred a little with my buddies and get my head in the right space, this season and in Verbier Freeride Week in particular, if I come first or last, I plan to charge it anyhow. . . . Or maybe flounce around in a move I like to call “The Dead Fish” Tm, copyright me. I believe they judges give point for that?

Leave a Reply

