So its that time of the weekly/semi regular posts. Things have been crazy busy lately between coming back from Verbier and going straight to Pila to work I am just now settling back into some semblance of a normal life. I am a lazy girl at heart so I have been craving for some me time, just sitting, no small talk no instgram, just either a book or a film and quiet time.
During all the fun days shredding around on the mountain and drinking beers with good friends and interacting with certain people, I have been thinking a lot about this positive body image. By that I don’t just mean me trying to be like my size 8 friends or trying to compete with people in town for who is the best on the mountain, I mean a sense of mental and physical comfort in myself. I have spent years never feeling truly right, truly comfortable.
People say that there comes a point in your twenties when you start to care less and not put so much importance on the opinion of others regarding who you are, but genuinely believing in yourself. That is slowly starting to happen, and my god its a long time coming. I am trying to nurture this part of me that sees me for how I want to be seen. Having the idea and the notion that athletes come in different variations of muscular form, different stature but none the less impressive.
Learning to believe that positive body images comes from mental strength and not just a physical. When that mental strength comes and so will the physical.
I used to think I had to hear someone say how slim I was or how I wasn’t fat or even have a boy acknowledge how pretty and sexy I was, but I don’t care. I just don’t, any more.
Success is coming to me in my career as I have begun to feel less inadequate. I now feel that if you don’t know; how hard I have worked, how ambitious I am, how driven I am, how impressive I am both physically and mentally,
then, well, you do you but you wont have me as a companion. I am awesome, I am strong and I am beautiful so that’s that really.
Training lately hasn’t been anything too exotic. It’s been my regular combination of trail running 2 or 3 times a week mixed with yoga sessions as much as I can cram them in, even if its a 20 minute apres ski session or an indulgent mediation session, I still feel it helps feed my soul.  In terms of on the mountain training, we are trying to ride as fast and as crazy as possible even if I do make rookie errors, like I did today- You can’t ride box on your toe edge. . . . . . I am trying to gather as much technique as I can to employ my #gobigorgohome mentality, readying myself for the comps in all conditions even if that means riding s***f*** which is what is on offer currently.
The next adventure will take me to Artesina Freeride Fest in just about 2 weeks. This will be the perfect laid back chilled environment for me to test some on my new tricks and put my new mentality to the test. Not only that but I am beyond excited to have my awesome roommates coming to compete with me. I know they are going to smash it, but together we can plan lines,talk cliffs and drops and take that mountain by storm.
For now, lovely people, have a great week
Peace and Love
Leave a Reply

