Another adventure and Another Day in Paradise

image

Today was such a great day I simply had to share it with you guys. We have been waiting with baited breath for almost 3 months for the winter to truly arrive and it seems, finally, it has.

The snow is falling in big generous flakes that have covered the ground with a magical, ethereal white blanket and this meant but one thing- it was time to ride!

Sadly the wind was not on our side today and so we began the day in my apartment with the guys,  talking over options.  As Freeriders, this is a massive part of our day and should be for any back country lovers.  Your group should discuss options and ideas openly well before you hit the mountain. We discussed heading to Courmayeur as they too have enjoyed the arrival of the snow but instead we thought we would go on a touring adventure.
I don’t have a split board at the moment so instead the guys convinced me they would go easy on me and I would follow with snowshoes. We chose a route that lead us around the forest and finally landing us in the sub area of Cervinia named Cielo Alto.

As soon as we began it became clear that the conditions were simply ideal. Steady temperature and no wind in the trees meant for a more reliable snowpack- suggesting that our run down would be just dreamy. The guys didn’t quite go as easy on me as I hoped, I was running off testosterone and my competitive nature to ensure I kept up with them as best I could.  I had sweat dripping down my face luckily the big fat smile I had meant it dripped straight onto the floor and away from my eyes and mouth!  It was hard work in parts so much so I did let out some exhausted sighs but the views were simply wonderful and kept me focused.

The lifts slowly began to open and the wind did die down so we changed our plan to head to the mean area after we reached our goal height. When we got there, with the matterhorn in our sights we enjoyed a short but rad run down.  I did a cliff  drop with a little too much speed meaning I had a knee to the face. There was blood and it was not pretty but I’m told that is referred to as a nature hit which made me feel super cool!

The rest of the day was spent shedding the lines that the tourists hasn’t ruined, until my legs could no longer carry me. Now I’m sat writing to you grinning at the weather forecast. It seems things are certainly looking up.

Peace and love

image

Leave a Reply

