Hey there everyone,

 

I wanted to check in with you today to talk to you all about something that I have been thinking about a lot. I am talking about supporting women in sport. Now this of course is something very close to my heart, I have so found so much peace and happiness, frustration and craziness in sport and sport has helped me out of many dark places where I thought there was nothing for me in life or a future. Snowboarding has given me the feeling of freedom and purpose I have been looking for my whole life. All of this makes me want to help other women feel the same and find within themselves what sport has helped me find.

I know many women who are either fantastic riders or very impressive athletes but I look at the in all their glory and achievements and wonder if they would want to help others strive to get where they are. I see some women who are so protective over their skill, their craft and the work they have put in the activity, which in a way I understand. Women have to be so ruthless in sport and in the professional world as positions of influence are so hard to come by. However if it means I am not as good or as determined to make it to the top no matter of the cost then so be it. For me if I have the opportunity to help, to pass on knowledge or advice then I want to take it. I want all people, not only women to feel welcomed with open arms when they meet me, to feel they can ask me anything and know I will provide support no matter what.

At the competitions, I am so fortunate that the women are supportive and loving. They embrace new athletes and support existing ones. Especially in the snowboard women category, we are the envy of the other disciplines as we are dolling out high fives and hugging every competitor when they arrive at at the finish. This is so important as its about helping people see their potential and grow from it. I want to employ this mentality in everyday life. When I meet women wanting to learn, wanting to improve, I want to be there offering a supportive word or some gentle advice.  Unlike these women I speak of who try to suitably talk others down, make them feel inadequate, try to outdo them in every way, I say to you that you will not find a friend in me. But to all women out there who want to try snow sports particularly, then go for it. There are groups and organisations out there that want to bring out the best in you and ensure you have all the motivation you need to get where you want to go.

After all an athlete is not just skin and muscle; an athlete is not just awards and accolades, and athlete is a motivator, someone who influences people positively, someone who has a healthy body image and a healthy view on eating and exercise. Most importantly an athlete inspires and I hope deeply that I can be that person to some women out there.

http://www.chickyclinics.com/en

https://www.womeninsport.org/

 

 

 

 

