Getting Itchy Feet to compete or not to compete

Looking back on last year, I was one busy little bee, although I am this year also, its in a totally different way. I’m loving the direction in which my career is going and I couldn’t be happier with all the love, support and opportunities coming my way but I forgot for a moment how it all started. It was the Freeride World Tour and the Qualifier Series. I stopped to wonder why I was competing and last year why I invested so much time and money travelling Europe to show what I could do. I thought was it worth it, all the days training, the days travelling and all the hate and sadness I felt at myself when I didn’t perform to the standard I deemed good enough. I was never quite good enough in my own eyes. I spent days literally sitting in bed crying and thinking-What am I doing, I am not a good enough snowboarder; I’m not as good as that other girl, everyone compares me to her, she should be competing not me-. I put myself though it all because I wanted sponsors, I wanted to work with the companies I had idolised as being such incredible brands, I wanted to be a part of that world. This summer, after a winter of feeling down about my ability as a snowboard and a massive amount of money out of pocket I got my wish.

I can now proudly say I work with and collaborate with so many amazing brands and companies who have been so wonderful and supportive. However although I’m sure it doesn’t hurt, not one of the sponsors has explicitly said they wish for me to compete. For a brand to move forward in 2016 its all about online presence, social media and potential reach. So for the season thus far, that has been my focus.  I’m investing time and energy into my other projects, Filming particularly and planning for the All Girls Freeride Edit and ensuring I stay up to date with my online profile by posting pictures of my adventures.

But now, I have itchy feet. I am longing for that feeling of pure adrenaline and sense of community I used to get from competing. There is literally nothing like that notion of fear and excitement when the organisers yell- 3, 2, 1 DROPIN- and I want that again.I said after Verbier Freeride Week that at the next comp, I would #gobigorgohome, well, after 2 months of pondering I’m ready to put that into practice. I need to dedicate myself to training for the next 2 or 3 weeks and head to the St Foy and Cortina stops on the Freeride Qualifer series with fresh eyes and new energy.

FOLLOW ME ON INSTA AND TWITTER TO WATCH ME FUMBLE AROUND AT YOUR OWN LEISURE.

Leave a Reply

