Going Vegan, Yoga and My Summer Training-Part 1

Hey wonderful people.

 

It had been just too long. I am so sorry I have been totally MIA recently, I have completely neglected my social media but it’s okay because it think it was totally needed. I was having a tough time at the end of last winter, many issue with my own well-being and mental strength and the future for my competitive career.  I was so eager to come home, get back to my sanctuary, with the family and in control of my own destiny again. So after a few weeks at home and I can come back to you guys fresh faced and ready to go.

Okay so I make a little check list in my mind, what I needed to address in my life in order to move forward and be the best version of myself I can be.  On the list was:

1, My out look and general well-being

2, My diet for building strength and training regime

3, Yoga and exploring the possibilities

4, Social Media

Not a very long list, but a list where all topics could lead to a happier and healthier me.

I will be talking over all these topics in the coming weeks but I wanted to take this particular blog post to talk about my decision to go Vegan.

Not one I took lightly, this is whole heartedly been the second best decision of my life, after deciding to take part in competitive big mountain snow boarding of course. I know I am only 2 weeks in but I could not be happier. I had a few courses of inspiration, the first were my good friends Ninni and Marta. These girls embody everything that is beautiful about vegan-ism and a general overall yogic lifestyle. These girls are beautiful, lovely skin, killer bodies but also kind natured, selfless and a pleasure to be around, I think being a vegan promotes a sense of greater understanding; for not only the environment but the value of life. The second inspiration was Full Moon Yoga retreat. Although, over at Chalet Rosiere you don’t eat exclusively Vegan, (we do have some light diary products)- the vibe, promoted by the gorgeous ex model and yogi Alex Volkers and her hero of a hubby Philip Volkers- they made their own probiotics, almond milk and explored the French Alps for the best health food shops, to ensure a balanced diet was served at their blissful retreat without needing meat or fish. Thirdly I discovered Yann Arthus-Bertrand- a documentarian, a humanitarian and my life’s inspiration. After watching all volumes of his documentary “Human” and then “Home”, a learned of the value of Human life, the preservation of our world and species, along with the enlightenment of our impact on the planet. With some self discovery, the realisation of my environmental impact came hurling toward me. Now I don’t have a car, I live in the Alps in the Winter, I recycle and I wouldn’t have said I was a massive contributor to the issue, but I realise it’s that mentality which has caused to much harm. Now adopting a Vegan diet to aid my summer training regime, I now know how to do my little bit to help save the planet; I save 1100 gallons of water 10lbs of CO2 emissions and one animals life PER DAY. To me that is more than good enough.

So what am I eating, well luckily my mum instilled within me a passion for food and cooking, safe to say I have not suffered. I have greatly enjoyed trying new ingredients and replacing protein etc with new experimental ingredients. Chia seeds man, who knew! I have attached some pictures so you can see:

20160412_085527

Home-made Granola Breaki

20160415_192406

Vegan/Glutan Free Beetroot and Cocoa Brownie

20160416_105954

Wild Berry Protein Shake

20160416_110317

Coconut Chia Pudding with Strawberry’s

20160421_123524

Roasted Sweet Potato, Avocado and Rocket

20160422_131044

Fried Broccoli, Pak Choi and Walnut Salad.

I will be sharing with you some experimental recipes and maybe popping some videos up on YouTube, but for now. . . . .

 

Thanks for reading. Let me know what you guys think.

 

Peace and Love, oh and FOLLOW ME ON INSTA- promise it will be worth it! Angelicasykesuk

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

