Athlete, What does it mean. “WHO AM I. . .I DON’T KNOW”. -Insert Zoolander-

It is a question I have pondered many times before. I always felt a little wince inside me whenever I refereed to myself as such, not truly believing that I was one. Not only that but thinking people would look at me and not believe it. That was why I wrote those articles back in November when I had a run in with 2 people who said I was “too fat” to be an athlete.

But anyway, I wrote that article, you know the one, if not scroll down to older posts “The F word” so empower myself and others. We need to strive for overall health and vitality and not an idea of skinny or some kind of body goal. This message is all encompassing for people who are physically fit and are damn proud of a high level of fitness but people pick holes in their body shape.

Well I feel like I can finally say I am past ALL OF IT. Call me fat or don’t. I mean those who do, will get one of my famous scowls and a speech about how they perhaps need to look internally to understand what drives them to comment on superficial things like body shape but even if people say what an awesome body I have, thanks but I am not sure I need you to say it anymore.

Yes I have lost a lot of weight recently, not deliberately but through vegan eating and a new workout routine, I have just become more toned and everything is becoming that little bit, shall we say- tighter. I am stoked of course, not because I wanted to loose weight so badly but because I am striving for better health. I feel so light on my feet at the moment and the world has become such a bright place, “Oh pipe down you hippie lefty”- right? People normally tell vegans to pipe down when we start to talk about this kind of thing but you are reading this because you are interested?- well vegan eating cleared my achy totally!- it has helped me create new muscle definition, I feel generally calmer, mood swings are non existent and I feel so strong and genuinely POWERFUL.

With the continuation of my yoga practice, meditation and a state of mindfulness, paired with the clean eating (well most of the time) and little to no alcohol has lead me to a place of bliss.

What I am ready for now is to hopefully inspire others to become self aware, mindful and peaceful from within. I am also ready to smash my up coming projects. I am heading to Lake Garda in just a few days, after that I have the volunteer trip to Malawi, then the Ski show and finally winter begins. All is well.

Join me on my journey and follow me on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. Add me on snapchat too: Angelicasykes

Leave a Reply

